Chamber Concerto (clarinet, string quartet, and string orchestra, 1930-5, p. 1969)


Karl Amadeus Hartmann

Date of work: 1930-35

Karl Amadeus Hartmann

Instrumentation: Clarinet, String Quartet, String Orchestra
Score information: Link
Additional score information: Link
Additional Audio Sample Link: Link
More Info: Link
Notes: Published by Schott. 'This Concerto was inspired and written in honour of Zoltán Kodály.' Hartmann was inspired to write a piece of music characterised by a Hungarian flavour, as much in the cadenza-like free passages reminiscent of gypsy music in the third movement Fantasie' as in the vivacious 'dance variations' of the second movement. Piano reduction with Clarinet: